Finally, I’m back! I was gone this weekend since my brother came for a visit. We just had to make the most out of it.

Let me begin this review by stating how much I love strawberries! It’s my most favorite fruit next to cherries! Hahaha. So when I saw that Skinfood has a black sugar strawberry mask, I just had to get it right then and there! πŸ™‚

After I got this in the mail, I broke this jar open! OH. MY. GOSH! It smells like straight up strawberries! I sat there for a couple of minutes just sniffing this out. If I could seriously take this jar everywhere, I would!

DSC_0322

What is it?

This is anΒ exfoliating mask, which has mineral-rich Brazilian black sugar with strawberry seeds and strawberry seed oil. It claims to leave the skin fresh, clean and fragrant with strawberry scent.

Product Info:

Name:Β Skinfood Black Sugar Strawberry Mask Wash Off

Size: 100 g

Ingredients:

Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Sucrose, Glycerin, PEG-7 Glyceryl Cocoate, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax, Cetyl Ethylhexanoate, Stearalkonium Hectorite, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Lanolin, Macadamia Ternifolia Seed Oil, Limnanthes Alba (Meadowfoam) Seed Oil, Fragaria Vesca (Strawberry) Seed, Sorbitan Laurate, Fragaria Ananassa (Strawberry) Seed Oil, Water, BHT, Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenoxyethanol, Caramel, CI 17290, CI 17986, Parfum

If you read the ingredient list, you can see that it’s pretty well balanced with different ingredients to exfoliate, emulsify, as well as ingredients with antioxidants, fatty acids, and anti-inflammatory properties.

  • Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter – This ingredient is well known for its moisturizing properties because it’s full of fatty acids, and anti-oxidants in the form of vitamins A & D.
  • SucroseΒ – Another term for sugar. This is the main exfoliating ingredient in this scrub. A lot of people prefer chemical exfoliators, but using a manual exfoliator like this product can remove dead skin cells without being too harsh on the skin.
  • Fragaria Ananassa (Strawberry) Seed Oil –Β This ingredient is high in linoleic andΒ alpha-linoleic acid, which is and essential fatty acids and is also known to be part of the Omega-3 group. Strawberry Seed Oil is known to moisturize and protect the outer layer of the skin. This oil helps restore smoothness and suppleness of the skin.

Packaging:

The product comes in a bucket. It has a slight vintage, rustic look to it. The only disadvantage of this product is that you have to “dig” through it during use. A bit less hygienic than other products that comes in a tub. It would’ve helped if they just put it on a tube so it’s easier to dispense. Upon opening the product, it’s on the denser side. Scent-wise, it is strawberry heaven! The scent doesn’t disappoint. at all! I’m so in love with the scent and I thoroughly enjoy it during use.

How to use:

I use this exfoliator once a week, but on rare occasion, I would use it twice if my skin needs it. I use this before toning, I apply it to my damp face, of course, avoiding the eye and mouth areas. I leave it on for 10-15 minutes then I rinse it off with lukewarm water.

Price:

Review!

For someone who hasΒ sensitive skin, exfoliating is usually the last thing I’d want because it can irritate and even be too harsh for my skin. Though after using this, I find it just right for my skin. Not too harsh. I know a couple of KBeauty lovers who own a scrub water it down just a little so it isn’t too abrasive. You’ll fall in love with the strawberry scent it has. It’s just so pure to smell, not like artificial scents. As I stated, I use this once or twice a week, and this doesn’t disappoint me. It leaves my skin smooth and definitely feeling cleaner! After using this, my skin is really supple. I would prefer it to come with a little spatula, but then again, I have a ton of spatulas laying around and I just use that.. Haha. Or perhaps they offer it in a tube. Somewhat like Cosrx overnight masks, those come in a little jar, which I have or they also offer them on tubes. It leaves consumers flexible and get whichever they prefer. I do think those who haveΒ oily skin or evenΒ combination would really like this product since it does a great job of getting rid of extra sebum.

I still have anΒ almost full jar of this and I will keep using it until I finish the jar. I’d repurchase this simply because it’s a great exfoliator to have in hand and when you prefer something than chemical exfoliators. Though next time, I’ll probably try their other varieties. I’ve heard a lot about theΒ black sugar honey mask from the same brand. πŸ˜‰ If you haveΒ super sensitive skin, I personally think you can still use this, just water it down a little so it won’t be as harsh.

‘Till next time,

Rein R.

Leave a Reply

