Hey everybody!

I posted this on my Instagram page a couple of days ago! If you aren’t following me yet, please check out kbeauty.reinex on Instagram and follow. I post pretty much what I’m up to and even share some more of my routine that I don’t get to share here on the blog right away.

Anyway, my review today is for the A’Pieu Rub in Gelato. This wash-off masks comes into two varieties. One is rice and the other, pistachio. Both are very interesting products, but in this review, I’m going to be talking about pistachio.

Let’s talk about the packaging! Seriously soo cute! I got this when I was in my recent travel to the Philippines. Only to find out an old, good friend of mine are selling Korean beauty products! That was when I was introduced to it and I was hooked! Before I left she had these for sale and of course, I went ahead (without any hesitation) and bought it! When I first got it, I seriously had to fight the urge to open this baby up and eat it! Haha.

Product Info:

Name: A’Pieu Rub in Gelato Mask (Pistachio)

Size: 100 ml

This wash-off mask claims:

  1. Gently remove dead skin cells and clean the pores.
  2. Minimize pores and help with sebum control.

 

 

Ingredients:

Water, Kaolin, Dipropylene Glycol, Betonite, Phaseolus Angularis Seed Powder, Betaine, Alcohol, Cellulose, Titanium Dioxide, Piper Methysticum Leaf/Root/Stem Extract, Centella Asiatica Extract, Ficus Carica Fruit Extract, Eucalyptus Globulus Leaf Extract, Melia Azadirachta Leaf Extract, Portulaca Oleracea Extract, Pueraria Thunbergiana Root Extract, Glycyrrhiza Glabra Root Extract, Paeonia Lactiflora Bark/Sap Extract, Cnidium Officinale Root Extract, Ulmus Davidiana Root Extract, Amaranthus Caudatus Seed Extract, Pistacia Vera Seed Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Water, Metha Piperita Leaf Water, Soluble Collagen, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis Seed Meal, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Sodium Hyaluronate, 1,2-Hexanediol, Xanthan Gum, Glyceryl Stearate, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Mica, Dimethicone, Cetylethylhexanoate, Caprily/Capric Triglycerides, PEG-100 Stearate, Methyl Taurates, Tocopheryl Aceitate, Tetrasodium Pyrophosphate, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Chromium Oxide Green, Butylne Glycol,  Illite, Ethylhecylglycerin, Montmorillonite, Calcite, Ceramide 3, Yellow Iron Oxide (CI 77492), Black Iron Oxide (CI77499), Fragrance

Some of the ingredients from this products has serious benefits for the skin. Some of these will be highlighted below.

Pistachio Extract – Pistachios are high in beta-carotene, which helps with hyperpigmentation. While beta-carotene has antioxidant properties which is a forerunner for vitamin A.

Ethanol – I know.. This mask might not be suitable for those who has sensitive skin or maybe something that you just want to avoid. A product that contains ethanol usually dries out the skin and can even irritate the face after use.

Adzuki Bean Powder – also known as Red Bean Powder. This ingredient is known to be a gentle exfoliator. It’s also known to remove dead skin, unclogs pores and promotes better circulation.

“Green Clay” – Though it might not be included in the list. When ingredients usually list of KaolinBentonite, it usually means clay. Some examples of products that has kaolin are the bubble masks like the AprilSkin and Elizavecca.

Upon opening the product is quite the opposite of how cute the packaging was. I don’t really know how to explain it.. It was a weird scent to it. When you get a product that you know smells and tastes great, you would think that this would be alike. Unfortunately, this is not it. Let me try my best to describe it… Hmmm, it definitely has the hint of clay to it. Also, the pistachio and red bean are prominent with the smell. The looks of it wasn’t welcoming either. Hahaha. It’s this dark green hue with the little chunks of pistachio? That’s how far I think I can describe it..

Sorry if it’s a bit of a blogger fail! Lol.

Application:

I used this product after cleansing and applying the toner. The application wasn’t hard at all. You kind of just have to get used to the scent quite a bit. A little of it goes a long way, so I assume this isn’t a product that would run out fast. It is dense in texture so I do think that it’s a lot for a 100 ml container. After application, this mask dries of fairly quick! Maybe because of the alcohol in it? You’re supposed to keep this mask on for 10 to 15 minutes. After the time passes, you should wash it off with lukewarm water. Massaging of course to let some of its ingredients to do it wonder.

**Pictures might not be of great quality since I just took this with my phone. Sorry!**

Price:

$11.99 – Beauteque

$7.52 – w2beauty

My Review:

After a few times of using this product, I can say that it definitely helps to clean my pores, but did nothing for the sebum control. I would even say that it soothed my skin. Though one thing that happened is that I experienced redness after using it. Maybe the alcohol that’s in it is just a bit strong for me. The scent is something that still bothers me even though I’ve used this quite a bit. I do like that the mask dries off pretty fast and that a little amount goes a long way.

Unfortunately, I think that the cute packaging is what was best with the item. For me, this just didn’t do what it was supposed to do. I experienced redness so I wouldn’t recommend this to those who has sensitive skin because it might just cause a break out. Unlike the other wash-off masks that I have, this was a fail for me. Even though I wanted to like this very much… it just isn’t good.

As someone who is always looking for new products to try out.. This is something that I’d definitely skip. Though I’m quite intrigued with the Rice version of this. Seems like a lot loves that kind. I’ll definitely be on the look out for more wash-off masks that is more effective than this mask. Does anybody have any recommendations of what wash-off mask I should try next? Please leave me a comment below!

‘Till next time,

Rein R.

9 thoughts on “A’Pieu Rub In Gelato

  1. I have been starting to like Aprilskin products but all I have tried as of now is their BB cushion black 🙂 Great review of their gelato! I’ll also try and use it too maybe in the future :))

    Like

      1. Oh my!! I totally confused Aprilskin and Apieu only now I’ve realized hahah silly me. Anyways what I meant was I also wanted to try this apieu gelato and apieu cushion too :))

        Like

      2. To be completely honest… I misread it too! Lol! Let me know how it goes once you try them! 🙂 Plus, I meant what I said about AprilSkin.. hahahaha. 🙂

        Like

  2. Great review. And the packaging is so adorable!

    I highly wanna recommend the Skinfood wash-off masks. I’ve only tried the Rice variant, but there are plenty of good reviews for the other variants as well, most especially the Strawberry one. 💕

    Like

Leave a Reply

